Hosting provider
SherlockHost
SherlockHost lists £2.49 a month with no separate renewal rate — the price is the same in the first term and afterwards. The three-year total below is simply thirty-six times that.
Our assessment
The same £2.49 monthly price from signup through year three, cheaper than nearly everything here, but claims of unlimited everything make what you actually get impossible to judge.
What is good
- +£2.49/month from signup through year three with no renewal increase
- +Free domain included with web hosting
- +Three-year total of £89.64 undercuts most competitors here
- +Reseller hosting at £20/month on SSD with cPanel/WHM
What to know first
- −"Unlimited" storage and bandwidth conceal actual resource caps
- −No control panel named for standard web hosting tier
- −Domain renewal pricing not disclosed
- −No datacenter location, uptime guarantee, or infrastructure detail
- −Support channels and response expectations entirely unstated
Buy it for
Someone who needs the cheapest possible entry and is willing to test whether "unlimited" means enough for their use case.Do not buy it for
Anyone who needs to know in advance what their resource limits are, or who cannot afford to migrate if the account is silently throttled.The full read
The price is £2.49 a month and stays there. No rise at renewal, no unannounced jump, the same rate in month one and month thirty-six. That puts it below Hostinger's three-year average and a fraction of what Vangus charges.
Every plan advertises unlimited websites, unlimited storage, unlimited bandwidth. Unlimited is not a technical specification, it is a marketing claim that conceals the actual limits. A shared hosting account has finite disk, finite RAM, finite CPU — the question is where those limits sit and what happens when you approach them. SherlockHost does not say.
The web hosting plan includes a free domain. Whether that domain renews at standard registry rates or at a markup, and whether it remains free beyond the first term, is not stated. Details matter when a domain might cost more per year than the hosting itself.
Reseller hosting at £20 a month is positioned as unlimited, running cPanel and WHM on SSD storage. What that means in allocation per resold account, or how many accounts the reseller can provision, is left unspecified. A reseller plan priced this low either rations resources tightly or oversells capacity.
The site lists email and responsive design as features of the website builder, but not what the builder software is, how many templates are usable rather than merely present, or whether you can export your work. A builder is only as good as what you can do when it stops meeting your needs.
No uptime guarantee is published, no control panel is named for the web hosting tier, no support hours or response commitment appears anywhere. Infrastructure details — datacenter location, server specs, backup policy — are absent. You are buying on price and promise, not on specification.
Written 2026-09-01 by payless.host. Performance figures come from independent testers who publish their method. The section above is our own assessment. The prices below are copied from the provider's pricing page and are not affected by it.
What it costs
Web hosting
Shared plans, priced per month on a fixed term.
| Plan | Introductory | Renews at | Intro runs for | 3 years, total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Web Hosting Unlimited websites/domains, unlimited space, unlimited bandwidth, free domain |
£2.49 | the same | no introductory term | Same price, always |
| Website Builder Over 180+ templates, website + domain + email, responsive design, unlimited bandwidth |
£2.49 | the same | no introductory term | Same price, always |
| Reseller cPanel/WHM reseller accounts, unlimited reseller hosting, high-speed SSD |
£20 | the same | no introductory term | Same price, always |
Prices read from the provider's own pricing page on 2026-09-01.
https://sherlockhost.co.uk
Where the introductory term or the renewal rate is not published, the three-year column is left blank rather than estimated.
We earn a commission when someone buys through our links. It has no effect on the figures above, which are read from the provider's own page and published as they are.
