ENHEIT

payless.host

How to read a hosting price page without getting caught out

Updated Oct 25, 2026

1. Find the headline price, then find the renewal price

The large number at the top of a hosting page is the introductory rate. The price you will actually pay long-term is usually elsewhere — in smaller text below the main offer, in a footnote, or on a separate pricing page.

DreamHost shows Web Hosting Launch at 2.89 EUR/month but renews at 10.99 after twelve months. HostGator advertises Hatchling at 3.75 USD/month and renews at 10.99 after thirty-six months. If the provider does not state a renewal price, you cannot know what you will pay after the intro period ends.

What can go wrong: the renewal rate may be labelled "regular price", "standard rate", or "after promotional period". It is always the larger number.

2. Check when the price changes

The duration of the intro rate varies. Some providers hold it for one month, others for a year or longer, and the timing determines what the total cost will be.

InterServer charges 2.50 USD/month for Standard Web Hosting, then 7.00 after one month. Namecheap holds .online domain registration at 0.98 USD/year for twelve months, then 2.88. HostGator's Hatchling plan stays at 3.75 USD/month for thirty-six months before rising.

How to check it worked: you should now have three numbers — the intro price, the renewal price, and the number of months (or years, for domains) before the change.

3. Calculate what you will pay over three years

Multiply the intro price by the number of months it lasts, then multiply the renewal price by the remaining months to reach thirty-six, and add them.

DreamHost Web Hosting Launch: 2.89 EUR/month for twelve months is 34.68, then 10.99 for twenty-four months is 263.76, giving a three-year total of 298.44 EUR. HostGator Hatchling: 3.75 USD/month for thirty-six months is 135.00 USD, and there is no renewal cost within the three-year window.

What can go wrong: if the provider quotes an annual price for something billed monthly, or vice versa, the units must match before you multiply. Domain registrations are always annual.

4. Compare like with like

A monthly price quoted in one currency cannot be directly compared to a monthly price in another, and a three-year total only matters when set against other three-year totals for similar products.

SherlockHost charges 2.49 GBP/month for Linux Hosting start and does not change the price at renewal, which over three years is cheaper than nearly everything in this category. DreamHost's VPS Business at 13.75 EUR/month rising to 31.99 gives a three-year total of 932.76 EUR — far higher, but for a VPS rather than shared hosting.

How to check it worked: the products being compared should be in the same category and the totals in the same timeframe.

5. Check what the commitment requires

The advertised rate often requires prepaying for one, two, or three years. If you pay monthly instead, the price is usually higher from the first month.

HostGator Hatchling is 3.75 USD/month only if you commit to thirty-six months upfront. Hostinger does not state a renewal price for Cloud Professional at 15.99 USD/month, which means the rate after the initial term is unknown. Namecheap's Private Email trial is 0.00 USD/month for one month, then 1.24.

What can go wrong: a price that looks affordable monthly may require several hundred currency units paid today.

6. Identify what is not stated

If a provider does not publish a renewal rate, you are committing to an unknown price. If resource limits are described as "unlimited", there is no way to know at what threshold throttling or suspension will occur.

Hostinger's Cloud Professional and Cloud Enterprise plans do not state renewal prices. SherlockHost describes its plans as offering unlimited resources, which makes the actual allocation impossible to judge. HostGator's Pro plan renews at 29.69 USD/month after an intro rate of 13.95, giving a three-year total of 502.20 USD — higher than most shared hosting, but the renewal rate is at least disclosed.

How to check it worked: if you cannot find a figure after checking the footnotes, the terms of service, and the FAQ, the provider has not published it.

The providers in this article